One to rely on

I know we all have them even if we won’t admit that we do. And I most definitely had one this week. I was just grateful that my husband was not home to witness this monumental flop. I had an absolute kitchen disaster!

My mind and day had been occupied with my latest sewing project and so I decided to prepare something quick, easy, comforting and obviously nutritious for dinner for my son and I. And as the weather showed the sure signs of autumn I thought that the spinach (actually Swiss chard) in the fridge along with some mushrooms and a dollop of cream would make a great soup and I could serve it with sausages on the side.

Well, I managed to burn the sausages and the soup was close to inedible. My brave son and I managed to swallow some of the soup and we cut the worst of the burnt bits from the sausages and then we had a paleo sandwich with cheese instead.

This is one recipe that I can always rely on. It has never let me down. Even once when I added whole almonds instead of almond meal to the other ingredients already in the food processor it came out looking and tasting as good as ever. Yes, the pieces of almond was more noticeable but we quite enjoyed the extra texture.  I found the original recipe on Adriana Harlan’s Living Healthy with Chocolate site. (Click here for the link.)

Paleo Sandwich bread
200g / 2 cups almond mealIMG_0001_2t
46g / just a bit less than ½ cup flax seed meal
½ cup tapioca flour
pinch of salt
1 t bicarbonate of soda
1 t apple cider vinegar
125 ml Greek (or plain) yogurt
4 eggs
100 ml cooking / light taste olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a small loaf tin (approx. 20cm x 10cm).
Combine all the ingredients in a bowl (if you want to mix it by hand with a whisk) or in the food processor (if you have one) until well mixed. Pour batter in the loaf tin and bake for 30 – 35 minutes until done.  As a side note: I buy whole flax seed and grind it in the liquidizer.

I often use this bIMG_0002_1tread for sandwiches in our son’s school lunch box. He also enjoys the “fishy” version – toasted, cut into fish shapes and spread with almond nut butter. Thinly sliced and toasted it is a great substitute for a cracker served with dip.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

